top of page
Search

I Learned a New Word Today.... Hybristophillia.

So I wasn’t entirely sure what to write about for this post. I knew I wanted to write about something to do with serial killers. I don’t even know what got me to the page, but I learned the word Hybristophilia. Hybristophilia is simply an attraction to wrongdoing. The word is often applied to the ‘fans’ of serial killers. I knew people were a bit obsessed with serial killers (clearly I’m one of those people) but I was never one of those people who wrote letters to serial killers, robbers, and rapists. There was always a line of safety for me by not making myself known to those people. I only want to use their behavior as an inspiration for my writing. I don’t want to get to know them on a different level and I am certainly not attracted to any of those people. My obsession is more of a fascination with learning about their behavior and twisting it for my own creative outlets.


A few weeks ago I watched a movie about a student who wanted to study a serial killer facing trial while he was attending college. Dear Mr. Gacy was a film portrayal of Jason Moss’s interactions with John Wayne Gacy. Moss was not someone who would have been a hybristophilliac but he used it for his research. I find his point of view and use fascinating. If I were going to study a serial killer in real life I would probably use the same method.


I’ve seen several movies documenting the women who marry famous serial killers. I find those films and documentaries fascinating in how those women are portrayed. It is true that movies dramatize those situations but the concept itself is enough to draw people in. I know when I found out about the fetishization of serial killers I was amazed about the things I was reading online. Artwork, letters, and paraphernalia from those serial killers can be bought and sold online at ridiculous prices. I remember a documentary of Gacy’s artwork detailing pieces being sold for millions of dollars.


I think all of this is going to give me an idea for a writing prompt. Check out the forum for that prompt and post a response! I’ll have my own response to the prompt up soon! Thanks for your support and your continued involvement with my page. Remember to just keep writing!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anyone Hit 50,000 Words Yet?

Hey Everyone! If you were not aware it is National Novel Writing Month! Is anyone participating in the challenge to write 50,000 in one month? I'm working on three challenges this year. It is probably

Obvious Sexist Decisions

So I was looking up a topic for my blog this week and decided on a topic related to Jack the Ripper. I was going to talk about his removal of the uterus in some of his victims. It directly relates to

A Moment to Process

I’ve been focused this week on my mental health. Due to a pharmacy change and my doctor leaving their practice, I wasn’t able to get a refill on one of my medications. This normally wouldn’t be a prob

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page